WVSRC Mission Statement

The mission of the West Virginia Society for Respiratory Care is to:

  • Promote and advance the profession of Respiratory Care whenever and wherever possible.

  • Provide opportunities to its membership and other healthcare professionals for the advancement of knowledge and capabilities in caring for patients with lung disease and complex disease issues.

  • Provide a forum for open dialogue between all levels of healthcare professionals to increase cooperation and sharing of best practices.

History of the WVSRC

The West Virginia Society For Respiratory Care (WVSRC) was established in the State of West Virginia in the United States of America in the early 1970’s. The West Virginia Chapter of the American Association for Respiratory Care received the tax-exemption letter from the IRS, approving its not-for-profit status as a 501c6. In 1993, the WVSRC was incorporated and a charter was filed with the West Virginia Secretary of State under the name West Virginia Society For Respiratory Therapy, Inc.

WVSRC Elected Board Members


Chris Trotter

Director of Clinical Education

Carver Career Center

Term of Office:April 2020-2022


President Elect

Pete Hornbeck

Clinical Specialist

WVU Medicine

Term of Office: 2020-2022


Immediate Past President

Serena Burdette

Director of Staff Education

Appalachian Medical

Term of Office: April 2020-2022


Vice President

Jim Perrine

Outpatient Pulmonary Services Manager

Cabell Huntington Hospital

Term of Office: April 2020-2022



Kim Burford

Director of Occupational Lung Health Center


Term of Office: April 2020-2022



Mike Walls

Term of Office: April 2019-2023


Delegate (Senior)

Brian Ringler

Manager of Respiratory Care

WVU Medicine

Term of Office: April 2018-2022


Delegate (Junior)

Cindy Keely

Quality Improvement Manager

American Heart Association

Term of Office: April 2020-2024


Director at Large

Chris McCormick

Director of Population Health

WVU Medicine

Term of Office: April 2020-2022


Director at Large

Caleb Adams

Staff and PRN Charge Therapist


Term of Office: April 2021-2023



Membership Committee

Election Committee

Program and Education Committee

Bylaws Committee

Public Relations Committee



Articles of Incorporation

WVSRC Articles of Incorporation